British Commonwealth

Up Catalog


     In 1947 India was divided into to self-governing dominions, Pakistan and India. Pakistan became a republic in 1956. Pakistan was made up of two largely Moslem areas in the northwest and northeast corners of pre-1947 India.
     In 1955 a set of three stamps was issued to mark the unification of West Pakistan. One stamp of the three is shown.

SCN 79-81

     In 1956 a set of three stamps with a map of West Pakistan was issued to mark the first session of the National Assembly of Pakistan at Dacca (in the center of the country).

SCN 84-86

Back Next