British Commonwealth

Up Catalog

Turks and Caicos Islands

The Turks and Caicos Islands are a British Colony, until 1959 a dependency of Jamaica.

SCN 392

SCN 97

SCN 136

SCN 111


    Following World War II Great Britain made preparations for independence for the Gilbert Islands. However, Ellice Islanders preferred separation to a continued relationship with the Gilbert Islands.
      Separation from the Gilbert Islands (now Kiribati), took place on October 1,1975, and on January 1, 1976, full administration of the new colony was transferred to Funafuti from Tarawa. Tuvalu became an Independent Constitutional monarchy, the 38th (special) member of the Commonwealth on the October 1,1978. In 2000, and a full member of the Commonwealth and the 189th member of the United Nations.
The stamp shows the relatonship between the two groups of islands.

SCN 17

Back Next