British Commonwealth

Up Catalog


     Brunei became a British protectorate in 1888. It became independent in 1983. The stamp shows Sultan Ahmed and pile dwellings in the town of Brunei.

SCN 76


Burma was part of India from 1826 until 1937, when it became a  self-governing unit of the British Commonwealth. In 1948 Burma became the independent naton of Myanmar. In 1946 Burma issued a set of 4 map stamps with identical maps. Two stamps of the set are shown here.
     The Irrawaddy headwaters, generally claimed by Burma are not included within the boundaries of Burma, but rather assigned to China. The claim is reasserted on the Burmese map stamp of 1957.

SCN 67     SCN 68

Back Next