British Commonwealth

Up Catalog


     Swaziland is located in the south-east corner of the Republic of South Africa. It was an independent nation in the 19th century with Sobhuza I as King. From 1894 to 1906 it was administered by Transvaal, and then by the British High Commissioner. In 1934 it became a British Protectorate. Swaziland attained internal self-rule in 1967, with Sobhuza II as King. Independence was proclaimed in 1968.
     The stamp was issued in 1967 to commemorate the attainment of internal self-rule. and in recognition of Swaziland's status as a Protected State. King Sobhuza's portrait also appears on the stamp.

SCN 126

     Swaziland became independent in 1968. The stamp, issued to mark independence shows an outline map of Swaziland with the route of its railway in gold.

SCN 142


     The Ellice Islands are 9 islands northeast of Australia. In 1976 the Ellice Islands became the Crown Colony of Tuvalu. In 1978 it became and independent state within the British Commonwealth. The stamp is one of a set of 10 stamps, one showing the group, and the others each showing one island.
     Nanumea is the northernmost of the 9 atolls of Tuvalu with a population of 918 people. During World War II it had a 2000 meter bomber base.

SCN 32

 Back Next