Up Catalog

India 275-286

     In 1957 India was divided into to self-governing dominions, Pakistan and India. India became a republic in 1950. A set of 11 stamps with a map of India was issued, with three additional stamps with the same design issued in 1958. One stamp of the set is shown.

     SCN 275-288

     On the 5nya paisa green some of the stamps have an error which claims for India  all of Kashmir, including the Pakistani portion, and the portion disputed between China and Tibet, and has given China territory in the Himalayas between the McMahon Line and the Assam plain, along the crest of the Himalayas. 

Back Next