British Commonwealth

Up Catalog

Sierra Leone 155

     The stamp issued in 1933 features a map of Sierra Leone, a British colony on the coast of West Africa, bordered by French Guinea on the north and Liberia on the south. The capital, Freetown, was founded in 1982 as a home for Africans who had fought for the British in the Revolutionary War. In 1808 Freetown became a Crown Colony, and in 1896 the balance of the territory became a Protectorate. Both achieved independence in 1961.
     There is a small map of Africa in the lower left corner showing the location of Sierra Leone.

SCN 155

Back Next