British Commonwealth

Up Catalog


Montserrat was formerly one of the four presidencies of the Leeward Islands. In 1956 it became a colony of Great Britain. The first stamp was issued in 1956 before it became a colony, so it shows a "Map of the Presidency." The second, stamp was issued in 1958 and shows a "Map of the Colony."

SCN 128

SCN 146


     Following World War I this German possession was mandated to the British Empire. In 1947 it became a United Nations trusteeship, administered by Australia. In 1968 Nauru became a republic.

SCN 71

Back Next