Up Catalog

The Republic of Columbia

     The Republic of Colombia, formerly the Viceroyalty of Grenada (1822-1830) included the greater part of the modern nations of Colombia, Venezuela, Panama and Ecuador. It was organized at Congress of Cúcuta in 1821 following the successful war of liberation against Spain. Bolivar  became President and Francisco de Paula Santander Vice President. The constitution called for a bicameral legislature elected from the three regions of the Republic.
     In 1829 Venezuela withdrew from the Republic, Peru invaded Ecuador and was defeated at the battle of Tarqui. Simon Bolivar assumed dictatorial powers. His assassination was attempted and he fled. By 1830 the Republic had disintegrated.
     The stamp from Venezuela shows the approximate borders of the Republic of Columbia and was issued in 1969 to commemorate the 150th anniversary of "Gran Columbia," a name give to the Republic by historians.

SCN 956

Acknowledgement of Receipt