Up Catalog

     In 1817, during the presidency of James Monroe, the U.S. Congress granted a charter to the American Colonization Society to repatriate slave back to Africa from America. The United States purchased land in Africa which became Liberia. In 1822 the first group arrived  and by 1838 the Commonwealth of Liberia was established. Before 1860 more than 11,000 free Africans were transported to Liberia. The capital, Monrovia, was named for him.
     Jehudi Ashmun (1794-1828) was an agent of the African Colonization Society which promoted the settlement of former slaves at Monrovia, Liberia. He built up the colony, but was recalled when the colonists complained of his authoritarian rule.
     The stamps were issued in1950. The low value shows Monroe and Ashmun and a map of Monrovia, while the high value shows Ashmun and William Tubman, president of Liberia from 1944 to 1971 and a view of the coastline of Liberia.



     To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Commonwealth of Liberia, a home  for feed slaves who wished to return to Africa, a set of three stamps was issued in 1940. The design on the stamp below shows Coast Line of Liberia as it was in 1839. The names of four towns mark settlements on the coast: left to right, Monrovia, Marshall, Bassa Cove and Sino.

SCN 277