Up Catalog

     The Saar lies on the border between France and Germany southeast of Luxembourg. Before World War I the Saar was a German territory, but from 1920 to 1935 it was administered by the League of Nations. Then it was returned to Germany. After World War II France controlled the Saar until 1957 when it was again returned to Germany.
     The stamps show an outline map of the Saar with rivers, and some town indicated. The stamp was issued in 1948 to commemorate the 1st anniversary of the establishment of the French Protectorate after WW II.
     The Saar River runs North to South along the western border. The dot under the A in Verfassung is Saarbrücken. Homburg is to the east of Saarbrücken, and Merzig and St. Wendel are across from each other in the northern area.

SCN 202