Portuguese Colonies

Up Catalog

     Portugal was a colonial power from the 15th century to the 20th century. In 1954 St. Thomas and Prince Islands issued a stamp to commemorate the visit of President Francisco H. C. Lopes of Portugal. Portugal and her possessions appear in red. Colonial possessions include the Azores, Madeira, Cape Verde, Guinea, São Tomè and Príncipe, Angola, Mozambique, Diú Damão and Goa, Macau, and Timor.

     After 1954 the Azores and Madeira became part of Portugal. Guinea became independent in 1958. Diú Damão and Goa were annexed by India in 1961. Cape Verde, Angola, Mozambique, and São Tomè and Príncipe became independent in 1975. Timor was annexed by Indonesia in 1976 and became independent in 2002. Macau was returned to China in 1999.

SCN 367