Islands ~ Modern Maps

Up Catalog

 Tokelau Islands

     The stamps were issued in 1970 to commemorate the discovery of the Tokelau Islands. In 1877 the islands came under British protection, and was declared a British Protectorate in 1889 by Captain Oldham by H.M.S. Egeria. From 1916 to 1925 the islands called the Union Islands were administered by the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony. Since 1925 it was administered by New Zealand from Western Samoa. In 1949 Tokelau became a part of New Zealand. The group is made up of three islands.

SCN 22

     Atafu was discovered by Commodore John Byron of the Dolphin in 1765.

SCN 23

     Nukunonu was discovered in 1791 by Captain Edward Edwards of H.M.S. Pandora, searching for H.M.S. Bounty mutineers.

     The third island, Fakaofo, was sighted by Captain Smith of the American whaler General Jackson. He called the atoll De Wolfs Island.

Back Next