Several Errors

Up Catalog

     On January 1, 1999 eleven European countries formed the "Euro Area," where a new currency, the Euro, would be in circulation. Those countries together with their flag colors, a map and an indication of the value of the Euro currency in terms of the national currency were included in a minisheet issued by Spain. Other features of the design include the value of the twelve stamps in both Euros and Spanish Pesetas, and in light blue the Euro symbol, and twelve stars.
     Mark Honig has called my attention to several errors on the sheet. First, The Netherlands, the middle stamp in the third row, is called "Holanda." This is the name of two provinces of The Netherlands. The name in Spanish should be "Paisos Bajos." Second, the maps of The Netherlands, Ireland and Luxembourg are inaccruate.

Back Next