Wrong Kind of Ship/No Provinces

Up Catalog

     The stamp issued by the Netherlands to commemorate the bicentennial of the settlement of Australia has two errors. The ship in the upper right corner has only two masts while the ships that transported settlers to Australia had three masts. The second error is that the provinces (except for New South Wales) indicated on the map of Australia did not exist until some years later. Queensland, for example, was not established until 1859.

Back Next