Names of Countries Reversed

Up Catalog

Mauritius 566

     Namibia, formerly South West Africa, became independent in 1990 after a long period of unrest and struggle. The stamp, issued in 1983 for Namibia Day by Mauritius, shows a very nice map of Namibia with roads, railroad lines and rivers, as well a many towns.
     The countries bordering Namibia, South Africa to the south, Botswana to the east, and Angola and Zambia to the north are also shown. The names of Angola and Zambia have been reversed. Angola is directly north of Namibia, while Zambia is east of Angola and borders Namibia only on the very tip of the Caprivi Strip, the long arm extending to the east of the main part of Namibia.

SCN 566

Back Next